WhatsApp’s new privacy policy and what you can do about it. - Lunar Gaze Lunar Gaze: WhatsApp’s new privacy policy and what you can do about it.
Breaking
Loading...

National

History

WhatsApp’s new privacy policy and what you can do about it.

WHATSAPP NEW PRIVACY TERMS: WHAT DO NEW RULES REALLY MEAN FOR YOU?

January 10, 2021

/ by pyro gyro

WhatsApp’s new privacy policy and what you can do about it.

A new notification has been popping up on everyone’s WhatsApp telling them that their terms and policies are being updated. Users have time until February 8th, 2021 to accept these new terms, and WhatsApp's new privacy policy has indicated that users may not be able to access their WhatsApp accounts if they do not accept the new terms and agreements.

This new update has caused a lot of concern over the new WhatsApp privacy policy, especially with respect to data sharing with its parent company Facebook.

What is WhatsApp sharing with Facebook?

Facebook-owned WhatsApp’s updated policy says that it may share your information with its family of companies to “facilitate, support and integrate their activities and improve our services.”

Whatever information WhatsApp automatically collects from you will be shared with Facebook. This includes your mobile phone number and basic information you give when you create a WhatsApp account.

It also collects and shares user activity, how often you use WhatsApp, features you use, your profile photo, your status, and ‘about’ information.

Your information could also be used by Facebook and its other products to make suggestions for you, personalize features and content, help you complete purchases and transactions, and show relevant offers and ads across the Facebook Company Products

What about your messages?

WhatsApp has reiterated that all messages are end-to-end encrypted. This means that neither WhatsApp, not third parties will access or read your messages.

“Nothing you share on WhatsApp, including your messages, photos, and account information, will be shared onto Facebook or any of our other family of apps for others to see, and nothing you post on those apps will be shared on WhatsApp for others to see,” WhatsApp says.

WhatsApp doesn’t store your messages once they’ve been delivered. Messages are stored on the user’s device and not on WhatsApp’s servers. Once messages are delivered, they are deleted from their servers.

In the course of delivering a message, WhatsApp’s servers store undelivered messages in encrypted form for up to 30 days and if a message is still undelivered after 30 days, WhatsApp claims to delete it.

“When a user forwards media within a message, we store that media temporarily in encrypted form on our servers to aid in more efficient delivery of additional forwards,” WhatsApp adds.

What about your transaction data?

Now that WhatsApp has launched a payments feature in India, it says that if you use WhatsApp Pay, additional information, including payment account and transaction information is processed by the company. This is information required to complete the transaction such as payment method, shipping details, and transaction amount.

“If you use our payments services available in your country or territory, our privacy practices are described in the applicable payments privacy policy,” it adds.

What about ads?

WhatsApp does not allow third-party ads on its services. “We have no intention to introduce them, but if we ever do, we will update this Privacy Policy,” it says.

However, WhatsApp can use information it has about you to communicate to you about its services and market its services and those of other Facebook companies.  

What choice do you have?

To continue using WhatsApp, you need to accept the new terms and conditions. If you do not wish to, WhatsApp too, suggests deleting your account.

For users who have already accepted the new terms and conditions, but do not want WhatsApp to share data with Facebook, or other businesses, they will have an additional 30 days to opt-out and delete their account.

What happens if you delete your account?

WhatsApp says that when you delete your WhatsApp account, your undelivered messages are deleted from its servers along with any of your other information it no longer needs to operate and provide its services.

However, users must ensure they not only uninstall WhatsApp but must delete their account from WhatsApp. This can be done by going to settings > Account and selecting ‘Delete my account’.

“Please remember that when you delete your account, it does not affect the information other users have relating to you, such as their copy of the messages you sent them,” WhatsApp’s privacy policy adds.

Courtesy: The News Minute


( Hide )
  1. I just wanted to send a quick note so as to say thanks to you for those amazing advice you are showing on this site. My time intensive internet investigation has at the end of the day been honored with excellent concept to talk about with my contacts. I ‘d express that most of us website visitors are extremely blessed to live in a remarkable place with so many wonderful individuals with beneficial things. I feel very fortunate to have used your weblog and look forward to so many more pleasurable times reading here. Thanks a lot once again for a lot of things. repair shop software

    ReplyDelete

Don't Miss
LunarGaze © all rights reserved
made with by templateszoo